Our Lady Of Furness Catholic Federation

Lovingly we Learn in Harmony


The Federation of Our Lady of Furness.

 Our Lady of the Rosary and St Mary’s primary schools are now 10 years into their ‘Federation’ and the 2021/22 year will be the 3rd academic year impacted by the COVID pandemic. The hopes and aims for the Federation when it was first set up have undoubtedly helped our students and staff to weather the unexpected storm that began in March 2020. Sharing resources, expertise and, above all, support and care for one another, has been very effective in helping both schools develop practical solutions and build resilience.


There is something very special about a faith school, and in particular our two schools.  Like other schools we do not stand still and are always changing, developing, improving and learning. What is special is an intangible ‘something’ that you feel as you walk through the door; ‘something’ that is captured in the names of our schools – ‘Our Lady’ and ‘Mary’.  Mary had no wealth or social standing but she gave Jesus a home – a home where he was nurtured in his early years; a home full of love, faith, obedience to God, humility and selflessness. Our federation governors, head-teachers and staff aspire to deliver the best possible Catholic education to children in a ‘home from home’ just like Mary’s.


Isabel O’Donovan

Chair of Governors

Sept 2021


Members of the Governing Body. 

Mrs L Byrne - Headteacher, St. Mary's Catholic Primary School, Ulverston.

Mrs E Crellin - Headteacher, Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School, Dalton-in-Furness.


Foundation Governors. (Appointed by Bishop/ Diocese of Lancaster).

Mrs I. O'Donovan (Chair of Governors) 

Mrs M. Page (Vice Chair of Governors)

Mr B. McGeough

Mrs H. Ord

Mrs M. Scott

Mrs A. Pritchard. 


Other Governors.

Mrs S. Friars (Elected Staff Governor)

Mr D. Gibson (Elected Parent Governor, Our Lady of the Rosary).

Mrs R. Whyte (Elected Parent Governor, St. Mary's).

Mrs S. Webster (LA Governor). Appointed by the Governing Body. 


School Business Manager. 

Mr P. Lewis. No voting rights. 



Mrs R. Jewell. No voting rights. 


Declaration of Personal and Pecuniary Interests 2021 - 2022.

Mrs I. O'Donovan. Governor at UVHS.

Mr P. Lewis. (School Business Manager). Family member employed by St. Columba's Catholic Primary School, Walney.