Our Lady Of Furness Catholic Federation

Our Lady Of Furness Catholic Federation

Lovingly we Learn in Harmony

  1. Our Lady of the Rosary
  2. Curriculum
  3. RE


Religious Education is an integral part of the curriculum at Our Lady's and permeates all aspects of school life. It is the core subject which is central to the life of a Catholic school. Religious Education is defined as the systematic study of the mystery of God and the teachings of Jesus Christ, the teachings of the church, the lives of the Saints and the relationship between faith and life. Religious Education is about engaging with the deepest questions of life and finding reasons for the hope which is within them. (1 Peter 3:15) It is about the Christian vision of the human person. At Our Lady's, we believe that excellence in Religious Education is achieved by the following,

  • Clarity of succinct learning objectives using driver words
  • Key content
  • Rigour
  • Richness and creativity of resources
  • Achievement of identified outcomes
  • Accurate methods of assessment

Our Lady’s is totally committed to the Catholic Faith, recognising and valuing every individual as special and unique made in the image and likeness of God.
Religious Education at Our Lady’s respects and promotes each child’s capacity for wonder, awe, reverence and spirituality. Our Religious Education curriculum leads our children to aspire not to have more, but to be more; children are taught about God’s love; they learn about their Christian responsibilities; children are provided with experiences of church, Catholic and Christian traditions, as well as being taught to be respectful and understanding of people and traditions from other faith backgrounds. Through Religious Education our children learn about their unique place within the home, school and parish community.

We follow the guidance set out by the Bishops' Conference in 2012.  To meet these requirements, we use the CTS scheme, 'The Way the Truth and the Life', which is supplemented by teachers' own planning, based on the Lancaster Diocese Curriculum Wheels. 

This syllabus is taught on a two year rolling cycle in Year R/1, 3/4 and Year 5/6.  Year 2 are taught separately.